Newly-Elected Board Leaders, Trustees Announced

Joshua Boger ’73, P’06, P’09 has been elected by the Wesleyan University Board of Trustees to serve as its chair, July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011.  Boger has served on the board for 10 years, previously chairing the Campus Affairs Committee and the Facilities Working Group.  In addition, he has served on the Board’s Finance Committee and chaired the Science Advisory Council of the University.  Boger founded and recently retired as chief executive officer of Vertex Pharmaceuticals in Cambridge, Mass.

Also elected to leadership positions on the Board of Trustees were Ellen Jewett ’81, who will serve as vice chair of the board, and Brian Schorr ’79, who will serve as secretary of the board.

Committee chairs elected at the Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees in May, 2009, include Shonni Silverberg ’76, Campus Affairs; Stephen Daniel ’82, Finance; Robert Allbritton ’92, University Relations; Darryl Hazel ’70, P’03, Audit; Megan Norris ’83, Governance; and Frank Sica ’73, Portfolio Subcommittee.

Tucker Andersen ’63, P’95 and Amy Schulman ’82, P’11 were elected by the Board  of Trustees to serve six-year terms, and Robert Allbritton and Ellen Jewett were re-elected by the Board to serve second terms through 2015.  Illana Wind Newell ’94, Ellen Remmer ’75, P’12 and Michelle Anderson Lyn ’84, P’12 were elected by the alumni to serve three-year terms on the Board.

Trustees retiring from the Board in 2009 were James van B. Dresser ’63, P’93, Lael Brainard ’83, Stephanie Ivy ’92, Michael Klingher ’78, P’12, and Thomas Wu ’72.  At the recent Annual Meeting of the Board, Dresser was elected chair emeritus of the Board of Trustees, and Stewart M. Reid ’72 and George M. Ring P’98, P’02 were each elected trustee emeritus.