27 Student-Athletes Named All-Academics

Jeremy Stuart ’08, top, is one of 27 winter athletes named an all-academic by the New England Small Athletic Conference.  (Photos by Brian Katten)
Posted 04/17/07
The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) announced its 2006-07 Winter All-Academic selections. Twenty-seven Wesleyan student-athletes received the honor.

To be honored, a student-athlete must have reached junior academic standing and be a varsity letter-winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

“At Wesleyan, athletics is to be an integral part of the overall educational enterprise,” says Wesleyan Director of Athletics John Biddiscombe. “The All Academic NESCAC scholar-athletes are an outstanding example of how well athletics integrates with the academic program.”

Ellen Davis ’07 was named a “notable member” of the Winter All-Academic team. Davis, a member of the Cardinal Indoor Track and Field Team, won the individual title in the 5,000-meter event at the 2007 NCAA National Indoor Track and Field Championships on March 10 in Terre Haute, Ind. Davis, who is majoring in women’s studies, was named to the Winter All-Academic Team last year and has also earned All-Academic recognition in the fall of 2006 for Cross Country and spring of 2006 for Outdoor Track and Field.

Other Wesleyan athletes and their sports include: Alex Battaglino ’07, indoor track and field; Lila Bolke ‘07, women’s ice hockey; J.Z. Golden ’08, men’s squash (pictured at right); Nicole Gray ’08, women’s squash; Ryan Hendrickson ’07, men’s ice hockey; Jessica Houghton ’08, swimming and diving; Caroline Janin ’08, women’s squash; Eliza Jones ’07, swimming and diving; Owen Kiely GRAD, indoor track and field; Megan Kretz ’07, indoor track and field; and Anwell Lanfranco ’08, indoor track and field.

Also Chris Lau ’07, indoor track and field; Nikki Maletta ’08 women’s basketball; Andrew Marvin-Smith ’08, wrestling; Sarah Milburn ’07, women’s basketball; Susie Morrison ’07, swimming and diving (pictured at left); Stephanie O’Brien ’08, indoor track and field; Dave Scardella ’07, men’s ice hockey; Kara Schnoes ’07, indoor track and field; Jimmy Shepherd ’07, men’s basketball; Alex Shklyarevsky ’08, men’s ice hockey; Jeff Stein ’08, swimming and diving; Jeremy Stuart ’08, wrestling; Seline Tirtajana ’08, women’s squash; Sean Watson ’08, indoor track and field; and Jaime Wendel ’07, women’s ice hockey.